Publishers Marketplace
Publishers Weekly

PEN American Center
PEN Center USA

Narrative Nonfiction
American Society of Journalists and Authors
Center for Investigative Reporting
Committee to Protect Journalists
Investigative Reporters & Editors
Nieman Journalism Lab
Society of Professional Journalists

International Thriller Writers
Mystery Writers of America
Sisters in Crime

Literary Agent Database

Daniel Pearl Investigative Fellowship ($5,000)
Submission: For early-career journalists (ages 22-38). A description of your story proposal, including how you plan to execute it, required.
Deadline: June 7, 2014

Richard J. Margolis Award ($5,000)
Submission: For a promising new journalist or essayist whose work combines warmth, humor, wisdom and concern with social justice. To apply, you will need to submit 1-2 examples of work, up to 30 pages.
Deadline: July 1, 2014

Emerging Voices, PEN Center USA ($1,000 + mentorship)
Submission: For poets and writers of fiction and creative nonfiction with clear ideas of what they hope to accomplish through their writing. Writing sample and application required.
Deadline: August 11, 2014

Hodder Fellowship ($68,000)
Submission: For writers and non-literary artists of exceptional promise.
Deadline: Mid-September, 2014

Abe Fellowship for Journalists ($23,500)
Submission: For journalists with at least five years of professional journalistic experience. Freelancers are also eligible. For international reporting on topics of pressing global concern to the United States and Japan.
Deadline: September 15, 2014

Patrick Henry Writing Fellowship ($45,000)
Submission: Applicants should have a significant book-length project currently in progress. The project should address the history and/or legacy – broadly defined – of the American Revolution and the nation’s founding ideas.
Deadline: November 1, 2014

Leon Levy Biography Fellowships ($60,000)
Submission: Emergent or first-time biographers, and writers moving to biography from other genres are especially encouraged to apply.
Deadline: December 1, 2014

J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award ($30,000)
Submission: For an emerging or established writer of non-fiction. The cash prize helps an author work on and complete a major undertaking of nonfiction on a subject of U.S. constitutional or social interest. For writers already under contract only.
Deadline: December 10, 2014

NYC Emerging Writers Fellowship ($4,000)
Submission: Applicants must be current residents of one of the five boroughs, and must remain in New York City for the entire year of the fellowship. Applicants can be of any age, but must be in the early stages of their careers as fiction writers.
Deadline: TBA for 2015

Nieman Fellows ($65,000)
Submission: Applicants must be full-time journalists (including freelancers) with at least five years’ experience. Opportunity to study at Harvard for an academic year.
Deadline: January 31, 2015

Philip Roth Residence in Creating Writing ($4,000 + 4-month residency)
Submission: For writers to finish their first or second book of prose.It is recommended that you can show proof of publication of past work.
Deadline: Feburary 1, 2015

Cullman Center Fellowships ($65,000)
Submission: For outstanding scholars and writers whose work will benefit directly from access to the collections at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building of the New York Public Library.
Deadline: September 26, 2015

For more ideas see:
Poets & Writers: Writing Contests, Grants & Awards
G&A: The Contest Blog
Funds for Writers

Drue Heinz Literary Prize ($15,000)
Submission: Collection of short fiction. Open to writers who have published a novel, a book-length collection of fiction, or a minimum of three short stories or novellas in commercial magazines or literary journals of national distribution. On-line publication and self-publication do not count toward this requirement.
Deadline: June 30, 2014

Bard Fiction Prize ($30,000)
Submission: Three copies of published book that writer feels best represents their work. Prize is for a promising, emerging writer who is an American citizen aged 39 years or younger at the time of application.
Deadline: July 15, 2015